SermonIndex Audio Sermons
SermonIndex - Promoting Revival to this Generation
Give To SermonIndex
Discussion Forum : Scriptures and Doctrine : 1 Corinthians 14:1 - Gifts??

Print Thread (PDF)

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
PosterThread

1 Corinthians 14:1 - Gifts??

Many of you on this site are so incredibly knowledgeable in the Scriptures. I am studying this out myself, but I would value input from those of you who would care to comment.

1 Cor. 14:1 (KJV) Follow after charity, and desire spiritual [gifts], but rather that ye may prophesy.

When I look in the interlinear, "gifts" is not there. It would seem that it should read "desire that which is spiritual" or something like that. Why was the word gifts inserted here?

I'm not trying to prove or disprove anything. Just looking for truth.

Dani

2007/5/10 19:52
KingJimmy

Charlotte, NC

Re: 1 Corinthians 14:1 - Gifts??

It's simply an insert by translators to help bring clarity to the sentence's flow. Translating it word for word, one could also say: "...and desire spiritual [things]." Then one could ask, what spiritual things? And in the context of the passage, it is easy inferred the "things" he is talking about in this passage are the gifts of the Spirit.

2007/5/10 20:38Profile

I've been struggling with questions like this myself.

I think it helps to keep the scripture in context by remembering that Paul was writing to former polytheists in Corinth who, I've read elsewhere, worshipped Diana before Jesus.

Consider four chapters before the scripture you cited Paul speaks of his liberty to partake of food offered to idols... to win the heathen to his cause... and to refrain from eating things sacrificed to idols if there's someone nearby he knows might be offended - like a Jew (I COR 10:27).