SermonIndex Audio Sermons
Image Map
Discussion Forum : News and Current Events : What does idolatry mean for modern day people

Print Thread (PDF)

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
jubilee

What does idolatry mean for modern day people

I am studying idolatry in it's subtle infringment on modern day lives, including my own. I am just wanting any insight that God may have given you that I haven't thought of

jubilee :-(

2006/2/13 1:05Profile
nacl

Babylon

Re: What does idolatry mean for modern day people

A comparison that I found incredibly interesting was one made by Paris Reidhead in his sermon "If Ye agree," which can be downloaded here on SI.

He related ancient idolatry to what he saw as their modern-day equivalents. 1 John 2:16 speaks of lust of the eyes, lust of the flesh, and pride of life. Reidhead compares these to Baal worship, Asheroth worship, and Moloch worship, respectively. You should really listen to that message, because he relates this truth powerfully (as is typical of brother Reidhead's messages).

This is not a deep statement, but I can say this (which I'm sure you'll hear from numerous other people): an idol is anything which takes precedence over God. Anything we put before God becomes an idol to us.

In fact, Paul informs us that covetousness is idolatry (Colossians 3:5) So when we covet something, our affections are set on that thing too much, and it becomes an idol. I have never heard anyone preach this, but Paul did, and that's good enough for me.

In short, if we put the Lord first in all that we do, we will not be counted idolaters.

Exodus 20:2-3
Matthew 6:33
Mark 12:30

Lord, make our eyes single for You! (Matthew 6:22)

2006/2/13 1:27Profile
jimp