Discussion Forum : General Topics : Personal Driving Conviction

Print Thread (PDF)

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
_Disciple_

The Netherlands

Personal Driving Conviction

Dear brothers and sisters

It's quite a long time ago when God dealt with me about my driving...

short introduction:
I am a taxi driver for 2 years now and i drive at night, bringing the people to and from the parties etc. However the first year i only worked at day time. And at day time i couldn't drive very fast because of the heavy traffic. But at night times traffic is less, so you can get somewhere faster.

this was my motto, i'd said "how a drive at day time, i will drive at night"...guess what, it became "how i drive at night is how i drive at day time"

this went on for quite a time, and this summer i went to a summercamp, and the Bible studies were about "The Judgement Seat Of Christ".

I'm glad to have a car for my own, and it happened as ussual that in that in the beginning of the week, you pick some friends up from the station. It was quite a straight way, from the camp to the station...and to give a little indication of how my driving was "50 km/h is allowed, i would drive there 80 km/h or 100 km/h" :-? In that week we went to the beach also and i would drive again very fast...

Until God showed me that i was wrong, it was mispleasing Him, my driving was a sin and a reproach to The Name of Christ and i was not a witness, a witness which i could and ought to be in my driving.

He convicted me it was wrong, so much that all i've done, that i was ashamed, i was so ashamed for all my speeding around and driving so fast. I could boast or be "the cool guy who drives fast" i was ashamed because, i was wrong, and with my driving style i sinned against Him only!

So a shame came into my heart and still i cannot be excited about what i've done. [sigh]

But God who is rich in Mercy and Grace to change my heart and my driving style!! [smile]