Discussion Forum : Scriptures and Doctrine : BACK TO THE BIBLE

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
Onesimus4God

Cyber Space

BACK TO THE BIBLE

BACK TO THE BIBLE
by LAHRY SIBLEY

I have been a student of the Bible for almost 50 years. That's not of much value, except that I have been led by the HOLY SPIRIT in my labors, when I paid a mind to HIM, and not to other men. So I say that, to say this:
The TRUE BODY OF THE MESSIAH, has NEVER needed a REFORMATION. The congregation of believers we read about in Luke's expose' we call The Book of Acts of the Apostles is fully explicit of what our MESSIAH ordained, not man. And any "controversy", is settled there, and further established in the writings of Paul, Peter, James, John, and Jude. There is nothing that needs to be added to it, or taken from it.
Few folks back then had access to the Old Testament Scrolls and the new writings of what is not called the New Testament. So the Gospel message began to be spread by word of mouth. And we all know what happens, when fact is spread by "WORD OF MOUTH". Though well intended, no doubt, error was introduced as man began to set up "covenants" and "statements of faith", based on personal opinon and hear say, in order to attempt to bring uniformity to "convert" faith. Thus leaven is introduced and "branches" begin to bud, and that has continued down through the Centuries, to the present day. Most called this effect "denominations", or DIVISIONS.
By the 16th century, this cauldron of error was embodied in what is commonly called The Roman Catholic Church. Most of us are aware of how unbiblical this giant of AUTHORITY had become, along with it's world wide corruption rooted in PRIDE and GREED.