Give To SermonIndex
Discussion Forum : Scriptures and Doctrine : Greek Help in James

Print Thread (PDF)

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread
PreachParsly

Arkansas

Greek Help in James

Ok can the word pis'-tis which is translated faith 239/244 in the KJV be understood as "conviction of a moral or Godly truth"? I belive it can..(I seen something similar in Thayers and Strongs) but i have no greek knowledge. If it is so then I have just had more than a lightbulb, but a spotlight turned on James Chapter 2 where he talks so much about works and faith. Because if faith in that scripture can mean conviction of a truth then it makes perfect sense what he is talking about. "if you are convicted of something but not responsive to it (works) this is it nothing. and just because you are convicted of sin that doesnt mean that you are saved" I would like to hear some input. Ive just been thinking alot about the book of James and this is a conclusion I have come up with. Thanks guys!
*edit* Are pure works not this: that we respond to the conviction of God? *edit*

2005/4/18 23:06Profile
dohzman

Re: Greek Help in James

matt13:3-9

2005/4/19 9:39Profile
PreachParsly

Arkansas

Re:

Quote:
matt13:3-9

I guess I don't understand :-? How is that a response to my question?

2005/4/19 14:51Profile
dohzman

Sins of ommision--list

James 4:17 to him that knows to do good and doeth it not, it is sin.

2005/4/20 7:12Profile
PreachParsly

Arkansas

Re: Sins of ommision--list

OK.. I guess I just dont understand.. I was asking if the word faith could be interpreted conviction of a moral or religious truth in that scripture. If you are trying to help then please explain..I really hope I'm not coming off rude but I have no idea what you are trying to say.. :-(

2005/4/20 8:17Profile
dohzman

Re: Hey Bro!