SermonIndex Audio Sermons
SermonIndex - Promoting Revival to this Generation
Give To SermonIndex
Discussion Forum : Devotional Thoughts : The Hard Work of Working Less

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
roadsign

The Hard Work of Working Less

Hebrews 4:11 “Let us, therefore, make every effort to enter that rest, so that no one will perish by following their example of disobedience.” (NIV)

As a piano teacher my job involves training students to work less. And that’s hard work for them! It sounds like a contradiction, but it’s not. For example, overworking arm muscles interfere with finger development. The student must “make every effort” to train the arms to relax so that the fingers can work freely and expressively. Unchecked tension causes the music sound forced, weak, and unsteady. It can eventually cause pain, injury and even end a musical career.

I see a spiritual parallel: We are cautioned to “make every effort to enter [Christ’s] rest” This is not a passive affair. It takes “ever effort” to cease from fruitless striving and enter into Christ’s rest. When we learn to rest in Him He will make beautiful “music” through us.

Think of the beginning piano student: At his first lesson he discovers that his fingers are so weak they may make no sound at all – especially the pinky finger. His reaction is predictable. Instinctively his arm pushes down on the hand in an attempt to compensate. Poor little finger! With such force bearing down on it, it merely collapses on the keys. A little finger cannot develop its potential until the bigger muscles learn to rest. This really does take “every effort” – involving intentional and careful practice.