SermonIndex Audio Sermons
SermonIndex - Promoting Revival to this Generation
Give To SermonIndex
Discussion Forum : General Topics : Where is the church?

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
andyz

Ft Lauderdale, FL

Where is the church?

I have been a pastor for about 35 years. 6 years ago I had to face up with the difference between what I was preaching and the truth found in the bible. The church I was preaching was not the church found in the NT.

We have the sinner's prayer - they had repentance
We have water baptism which represented an outward expression of an inward work (theology) - they had to bring forth fruit worthy of repentance. They demonstrated a death-to-self.
We have the lord's snack - they had the Lord's Supper.
We have clergy/laity division - they were all brothers and sisters
We have one man speaking on Sunday - they had body ministry.
We name our various brands of denominationalism - They were one in the city with no divisions.
We have form and programs - they had power
We have enticing words and sermons - they had life.
W call the building the church – the people were the church in the early church
The world called them Christians - the world calls us Hypocrites.

We have all kinds of Christian rock, dove awards, pulpits and pews, Madison Avenue techniques, compromise, etc.
We support division, naming His body, competition, titles, etc… You call that Christianity? That stuff isn’t in the Bible… we are a cult.

How important is unity to Jesus?
How important is love to Jesus?
How important is us being in community and fellowshipping with one another?
How important is us having body ministry?
We have majored on things which are not in the scripture and set aside those things that demonstrate His will.

So what is important to us: Pastors, sermons, Sunday school, programs, supporting buildings, paying big salaries to pastors.