SermonIndex Audio Sermons
Image Map
Discussion Forum : Devotional Thoughts : Express Yourself!

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
mguldner

Kansas

Express Yourself!

As a musician I love to use my creative gifts God gave me to express how I feel, from time to time the Lord blesses me with a happy song; sometimes the songs are a bit more sober in nature and content. Either way music is an important outlet for me to show people how I feel. Many people have referred to me as an emotional robot; they label me this because I don’t cry much on movies or books. For me personally I don’t cry on those things while, yes they are sad, they are still movies, or people portraying people i.e. make believe. However this label is something that I am okay with, it’s how God made me because I express my emotion through song and if one pays attention can see the opening of my heart.

King David was the very same way, read the Psalms and you will see him and his heart wide open literally an open book for the entire world to see. He held nothing back, the good, the bad, and the ugly flowed out of him. As a musician and writer I really get David and I can really appreciate his openness. Few musicians come to a place of total honest in their lyrics and music and it’s something I seek to obtain. I admire David because he came to that place of open honest. Unashamed, he wept like a baby and wrote a song about it.