SermonIndex - Promoting Revival to this Generation
Give To SermonIndex
Discussion Forum : Scriptures and Doctrine : Divine Healing

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
washad

arkansas

Divine Healing

I have not yet figured out how to look up archived subjects so forgive me if this has already been discussed. There is much debate on the issue of divine healing. Having been brought up with a Baptist background I have very little knowledge on the subject. When the issue was brought up it was always in a negative light. I know what I am "supposed" to say concerning the questions I will ask. I wish to see a different point of view or perhaps I hold the correct view and it just needs to be pointed out. For the most part Baptists are taught to pray and if God wills a person will be healed in His own good time. After reading the Scriptures it looks like laying on of hands and anointing with oil should also play a part but since their significance has always been downplayed or eliminated I do not understand their place.
Second issue is that most of the extrabiblical books I have seen on the subject are from Hagin, Capps, etc. I am not a word of faith adherent and feel that if there is some truth in these writings there is to much danger of error to pursue the answer through them.
1. So question number one. What place does the laying on of hands and anointing with oil have in the church today? Is it for every sickness or just life threatening ones?
2. Who can practice healing? Is it a spiritual gift given to some or a spiritual authority given to all God's children? Pastors and elders?
3. Lastly how is this divine healing manifested? Is it instantaneous? Always? How is it procured? Is there anything beyond the prayer of faith, laying on of hands, and the oil that I have missed?