SermonIndex Audio Sermons
Image Map
Discussion Forum : Miracles that follow the plow : Vainity of Vainities!

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
mguldner

Kansas

Vainity of Vainities!

I am going through a strange time in my walk with the Lord, an odd season if you will and I just feel like I am missing something that everyone else seems to have. I look at my religious action and knowledge of the scriptures and my heart cries Vainity! I studied Ecclesiates and found that Solomon came to the same conclusion that I believe the Lord is leading me, All is Vainity if you don't have God. I bang my head against the wall in my walk it seems struggling with my Spirit man (whom seems badly beaten) and my fleshly man (who boastfully assumes his victory over me) yet my Spirit man grieved at his falling looks up victoriously and shouts Vainity to my conscious throwing me back into a worl wind of battle. My Spirit man seems stronger than the fleshly man assumes even though the fleshly man is nailed to the cross he spits and wails and cries and this does a number on my person and confidence.

My lack of reality is what worries me the most and that like Thomas I sheepishly need to stick my finger in the holes of Christ's hands. I want to know God more but this is most definitely a weary road, I am reading a Jonathan Edwards sermon that calls to the opposite of complency and my flesh is resisting all the way throwing thoughts and distractions (even Godly thoughts) away from this message. I feel I have a lack of concern for not only myself but for others and it bugs me that my Love for Christ isn't something I enjoy to speak to strangers about or even my unsaved loved ones or coworkers.