SermonIndex Audio Sermons
Image Map
Discussion Forum : Scriptures and Doctrine : Why I still Use the KJV1611 Bible

Print Thread (PDF)

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread

Why I still Use the KJV1611 Bible

Some one asked why any one would still use the Old KJV1611 Bible and I find myself happy this day to answer that question in my own words. Before I went in the U.S.Navy in 1956 I spent the Christmas of 1955 at home with my family. My Mother gave me a King James 1611 Bible with my name embossed on the cover, it had the words of Jesus Christ in Red Letters and a zipper binder. When I got saved in 1983 I began to read that old black book, my sorrows melted away, I had a new song in my heart, a new book with pages yet unread! I read, I studied, I memorized and for a long time I wept over the wasted years that I had spent in vanity and pride. My love of poetry carried over to the Old Book with the Thees and the Thous and I marveled at the majesty of the old English! I began to go to Nursing Homes and passed out gospel tracts to people everywhere on the streets of the USA and Canada, I led my wife,my son and 2 daughters to the Lord that first year. I was a Babe in Christ and didn't know a lot, but I knew that when I got to Heaven I wanted to see lots of people that I knew there. I am 72 years old and I still see people on the street and say "How is the Lord treating you?" Once in 1993 I did that on a street and the man broke down and wept...I later led him to Christ. I have prayed with people on their deathbed, led folks to the Lord in their 70s. 80s and one in her 90s in 2005. All I am is a witness at a wedding, I stand and behold the marvelous works of the Almighty God. I said all this to say that I still read the KJV1611 Bible because "I love to tell the story of unseen things above, of Jesus and His glory, of Jesus and His love." But that's just me. Doug Lamb www.lastrump.org

2010/7/12 9:00
Nellie

Re: Why I still Use the KJV161 Bible