SermonIndex Audio Sermons
Image Map
Discussion Forum : News and Current Events : Preaching at Homeless Shelter

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
KingJimmy

Charlotte, NC

Preaching at Homeless Shelter

Tonight at about 5:30 or so I am supposed to be ministering for the first time, and by myself (because everybody else at church is on a missions trip to Uruguay), at a homeless shelter in the area. I've never done such before. Pray that God keep me humble and that I speak with much brokenness. I Plan on speaking on "Blessed are those who hunger and thirst after righteousness..."

2004/10/16 6:29Profile
riki

Sweden

Re: Preaching at Homeless Shelter

So, Jimmy, how did it go at the homeless shelter? I'm curious.

2004/10/18 1:38Profile
rocklife

usa

Re: Preaching at Homeless Shelter

I hope God uses you mightily and gives you His wisdom for all things. Thank you Lord for raising up laborers and answering our prayers through our Lord Jesus Christ!

As one who has been homeless and known several personally, it might be good to preach and expound on sin and repentance. Sin is one big part of how many people end up living on the streets, whether it was learned by parents and victims of abuse, or purposeful love of sin. Break the hard hearts with the fear of the Lord a little before preaching grace.

2004/10/18 2:24Profile
KingJimmy

Charlotte, NC

Re: