SermonIndex Audio Sermons
Image Map
Discussion Forum : General Topics : career choices?

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
wind_blows

career choices?

Hey

When I started school a few years back things were so different for me. At the time I wanted to be a writer and I have taken classes toward that end. I was even offered a job not to long ago to do movie reviews(I turned it down) As I progress in my classes some of the topic that I am required to write about have really started bothering me and I am wondering if I should just walk away from the whole thing? The closer I walk with Jesus the more I begin to question the different career paths that are out there and if it really is possible to remain strong in my faith and do some of these things?

in Him
ellie

2010/3/3 18:54Profile
sojourner7

Omaha, NE

Re: career choices?

There is a market out there for Christian
fiction and romance; but I am not sure how
you would enter into it.
I have been a writer for fifteen years;
most of what I write is devotional and
inspirational. It has become more than a
hobby; but not an occupation that supports
me yet!!

2010/3/3 19:30Profile
wind_blows

Re:

Hey sojourner

Quote:
There is a market out there for Christian fiction and romance;

At one time that was my intention but lately I just am not sure that is what the Lord has for me. Not sure any more that writing romance even if they are christian is really a good thing. I know many young women who have had lots of troubles when they allow themselves to get to caught up in romance books. Not sure I want to be writing and adding to that? I guess there is always christian fantasy. I had to turn in a fantasy story recently and I got great reviews and my professor loved it. I don't know that my heart is in it anymore.

in Him
Ellie

2010/3/3 19:38Profile
ginnyrose

Mississippi

Re:

Ellie, it just might be that your life will take a turn in the not too distant future! and writing will become secondary...? :-)