SermonIndex Audio Sermons
SermonIndex - Promoting Revival to this Generation
Give To SermonIndex
Discussion Forum : Revivals And Church History : AoG, UK

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread

AoG, UK

The AoG in the UK has a new website. Those of you familiar with its history, (more than I, who am new to it), might take a look at the Statement of Faith, and answer whether it is possible to hold to it, while reading the books they recommend, and doing what the writers on the site appear to be advocating to their leaders?

[url=http://www.aog.org.uk/]http://www.aog.org.uk/[/url]

2010/1/29 10:04
hoohoou

Texas

Re: AoG, UK

Ah, yes the Assemblies of God. I've been attending an AG church in Texas for a few years now, and went to an AG elementary, junior high and high school. If you are new I think, unfortunately, you will find that they, mostly, say the right things. Then you will notice that where the rubber meets the road they are a bit lacking. On the Young Adult section of the US website they were recommending the other day the movie The Book of Eli, which is rated R. You will hear them preach holiness and then do this. You will hear them preach on having faith in paying your tithes and then tell you how much the church needs your money and therefore show no faith. They will preach on old time Pentecostalism and then buy 15 flatscreen TV's for the hallways of a medium to large church. They will reminisce about the old days and the miracles they once saw and then talk about how great it is now that watching TV and going to see R rated movies isn't a sin anymore.