SermonIndex Audio Sermons
Image Map
Discussion Forum : General Topics : What say you, child of God?

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
nothing

What say you, child of God?

I am an evangelist. Several days ago I preached at a camp meeting in a rural county in Florida. It was an independant meeting (no denominational support/promotion). I did more than that, I was called of God to do it... set it up and everything. I have never done this before. It was a monumental task. Spiritual preparation began months in advance. It ran for three nights. I preached the first night and two other ministers the other nights. It was well advertised in the local paper, flyers were handed out and posted in places of business, local pastors of varying denominations and independant churches were contacted and encouraged to get involved or at least attend, and it was well advertised by word of mouth. No offering was taken, no donations accepted, and everything was paid out of pocket (no church s supported). It was soley for the people of the area to freely pull up to the "Master's table" and receive. Many people from the Christian community claimed to be longing for revival and made statements that they were willing to do what ever it took. We had prepared to seat about 200 people at the camp meeting, which was in a rented tent in a ballfield. Everything was prepared, but the turn out was far less than hoped for. The ones that did attend were renewed, restored, and refreshed according to their testimonies. Only one local pastor attended one night even though the camp meeting ran from Thursday night to Saturday night as not to interfere with local church services. The majority of those that did attend were unsaved, bless God! They heard the message of the cross, I assure you. The point I am trying to get at is this. God led me to put on this camp meeting in a community that claimed they wanted revival, claimed they were praying for revival, and claimed they were willing to sacrifice for rev