SermonIndex Audio Sermons
Image Map
Discussion Forum : Scriptures and Doctrine : Galileo

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
chrstsm

Galileo

I'm studying Humanities in a university and one of the professors states that the people at Galileo's time thought the earth was flat. He uses the scripture from Joshua about how our Lord held the sun. The thing is, we all say "when the sun goes down or rises". Does not the scripture state that the earth is not the center of the universe or that the earth is round? Please help with this. Scripture rules and science verifies it. Galileo's seeing that the sun is the center is scriptural, right?

Thanks in Him,
Mike

2007/9/21 12:17Profile
iansmith

Wheaton, IL

Re: Galileo

sin = the universe revolves around me
sanctification = my life revolves around God in obedience

I would say that there is more scriptural evidence in theology for a Sun (SON) centered solar system than for a Earth centered one.

One of the fields that should be explored is how athiests have hijacked history to portray a story of church vs. science, when often science was bolstered by the church. There were of course ignorant people in those generations, there are today, and there always will be, but that shouldn't be to say that they were in the majority.

I think that a close study of history will show that science was more often supported by the church than antagonized by it.

I was a History major at the University of Washington and a minor in the History of Science and Technology, I wrote my senior thesis on the ways in which the church supported and fostered what we consider early science.

Unfortunately most history textbook writers and professors want to make certain events stand out more than others.

2007/9/21 12:48Profile
Compton

Re:

Ian, I would enjoy reading your paper, if possible.

MC

2007/9/21 13:18Profile
iansmith

Wheaton, IL

Re: