SermonIndex Audio Sermons
SermonIndex - Promoting Revival to this Generation
Give To SermonIndex
Discussion Forum : Scriptures and Doctrine : Long hair on men

Print Thread (PDF)

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 Next Page )
PosterThread

Long hair on men

OK... Every now and then I get faced with an issue that I never thought was a big deal, but then the Holy Spirit challenges me. Personally, this is not an issue I deal with because I still sport a "high & tight" like I had when I was a in the Marines. In fact, sometimes when people meet me they assume I make my living in law enforcement... which I dont.

Anyway, I was asked about this issue, and at first my response was "God looks on the inside", which is still true. I've known believers who had a pony tail who spiritually had it more together than many who made an issue of hair.

But in scripture we read: [b]1 Corinthians 11:14[/b] [i]Doth not even nature itself teach you, that, if a man have long hair, it is a shame unto him?[/i]

While I dont see a definate command here for all Christian men to cut their hair short, it is definately implied that even in the natural long hair is not considered "normal" for men.

Matthew Henry, in his beautiful commentary on the Bible says: [i]He enforces his argument from the natural covering provided for the woman (1Co_11:13-15): “Judge in yourselves - consult your own reason, hearken to what nature suggests - is it comely for a woman to pray to God uncovered? Should there not be a distinction kept up between the sexes in wearing their hair, since nature has made one? Is it not a distinction which nature has kept up among all civilized nations? The woman's hair is a natural covering; to wear it long is a glory to her; but for a man to have long hair, or cherish it, is a token of softness and effeminacy.” Note, It should be our concern, especially in Christian and religious assemblies, to make no breach upon the rules of natural decency.[/i]