SermonIndex Audio Sermons
SermonIndex - Promoting Revival to this Generation
Give To SermonIndex
Discussion Forum : General Topics : Church is a lot like Football

Print Thread (PDF)

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread

Church is a lot like Football

Most everyone here knows I am a football coach. (If you dont... I'm a football coach) Anyway, I saw this and saw some humor and conviction in this. Hope everyone gets something out of this... Krispy

[b]Benchwarmer:[/b] Show up on Sunday eleven o’clock sharp and leave twelve o’clock dull. They do not sing, pray, work, and apparently do nothing but take up pew space.

[b]Sidelines:[/b] where lukewarm Christians always are.

[b]Running back:[/b] one who is unafraid to meet the opponent head on by faithfully proclaiming the truth of God’s Word.

[b]Linebacker:[/b] one who defends the faith against all attacks.

[b]Back Judge:[/b] one who only criticizes and never gets in the game.

[b]Nose tackle:[/b] method the pastor's wife uses to try and keep church gossip to a minimum.

[b]Assistant coach:[/b] an associate pastor.

[b]Stiff Arm:[/b] do not lay hands on anyone quickly.

[b]Off-season:[/b] summer vacation when church attendance falls off.

[b]Overtime:[/b] sermon continues past noon.

[b]Coin toss:[/b] taking up an offering.

[b]Pigskin:[/b] smoked ham at the church potluck dinner.

[b]Punt:[/b] point in the sermon where due to lack of response from the congregation, the pastor veers off-course from his sermon in desperation to regain the attention of the people.

[b]Punt return:[/b] congregation's response to pastor's punt.

[b]Defensive holding:[/b] gripping the back of the pew in front of you when under conviction.

[b]Delay of game:[/b] method special singers employ when their performance track is not cued to correct song.

[b]Offensive guard:[/b] persons who are constantly looking for something to be offended by.

[b]Quick count:[/b] estimate of Sunday attendance.