Discussion Forum : Articles and Sermons : CHRIST OR CHAOS? by anonymous

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
sermonindex

Canada

Online!
 CHRIST OR CHAOS? by anonymous

[b]CHRIST OR CHAOS?[/b]

"If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness" (I John 1:9)

"I'm a frightened man," says Dr. Harold C. Urey, Professor of Chemistry at the University of Chicago, writing in a recent issue of Collier's magazine (January 5, 1946). He opens his sobering article with these astonishing words, "I write this to frighten you. I'm a frightened man myself. All the scientists I know are frightened -- frightened for their lives -- frightened for your life." Dr. Urey played an important part in the discovery and development of the atomic bomb. He says, "As a scientist I tell you there must never be another war." Dr. J. Robert Oppenheimer, Professor of Physics at the California Institute of Technology, says, "There are no specific counter measures for atomic bombs." He adds, "There never will be." Dr. Arthur Compton, Nobel prize winner, told Congress that "control must insure that nations which have atomic bombs will never
use them." But how can this assurance be guaranteed?

It is all very dangerous and very frightening business. Dr. Urey is justified in being
frightened and is doing a valuable thing to frighten us to the danger of the present situation.

There is a better way to live than the world has yet discovered. The history of the human
race has been that of perpetual crime, horrible murders, cowardly suicides, and constantly