SermonIndex Audio Sermons
SermonIndex - Promoting Revival to this Generation
Give To SermonIndex
Discussion Forum : General Topics : church search

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
ruhappy

church search

Is it better to attend a church that is not even preaching Holiness then not attend at all? In other words should I just attend for the sake of
being a believer even if I don't know anywhere to go that isn't nothing more than a social club really? It all seems like a sad waste of time and confuses my children when we go to a church and have to say don't eat, don't touch, don't see.

2005/9/30 8:08Profile
dougkristen

Re: church search

I am in a situation where I am not being fed at the church I have been attending for the past 6 years.

The preaching usually is mostly of God's grace and the prayers of the saints is usually for the needs of people and for the building fund. They are usually recruiting people to work on the new church property and keep the facility up and running, asking for money for the new furnace or driveway or whatever and ignoring the people in the church who have legitimate financial needs...

This is a hard thing because our family has developed releationships with people and it has been a social club. I have had most of my spiritual growth outside of fellowshipping or attending any meetings at the church we attend.

While the people are nice, sincere... it's a hard thing to leave...

I can't even be a part of the men's group at the church if I am not a committed tithing member of the church.

This is a symptom of many believers who are dissolusioned of the watered down gospel and preaching in most evangelical churches today. I have experienced this.

The sermons where we attend have been shortened from 45 - 1 hour to about 20-30 minutes as to be more seeker friendly. The church service has also shurnk from 2+ hours to a max of 1.5 hours...

Doug

2005/9/30 11:12Profile
ruhappy

Re: