SermonIndex Audio Sermons
SermonIndex - Promoting Revival to this Generation
Give To SermonIndex
Discussion Forum : Scriptures and Doctrine : Question: On the name change of apostle Matthew (Levi)

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
ArthurRosh

Question: On the name change of apostle Matthew (Levi)

As I was reading the background to the Gospel of Matthew a question came up: why or how was Matthew's former name Levi changed? Is this similar to Saul who changed his name to Paul. Is this a common tradition in the early church for believers when they believe in Christ to change their names to signify new life in Christ? Was the name change related to baptism, is then when it was given or chosen? Was it the Lord Himself who renamed Matthew like He did Simon ie. Cephas or Peter (John 1:42). Please respond below if you know. Thank you.

2020/6/1 16:55Profile
ccchhhrrriiisss

Re: Question: On the name change of apostle Matthew (Levi)

Great question!

I studied this some time ago. There is a "Christian" tradition in many churches whereby a person is "christened" with a "Christian name" at baptism or upon entrance into the church after conversion.

In fact, many people use the term "christened" quite loosely and in many fields despite its etymology tracing back to Christian practice. The word is commonly used across academia and even common usage.

In fact, I remember reading a textbook in college about how each of the planets was "christened" despite the fact that they are primarily named after the gods, demigods and other figures of Roman and Greek mythology.

While the practice of "christening" something is undoubtedly now based upon traditions of men, we do know that believers had their names changed.

Cephas became Peter
Levi became Matthew
Saul became Paul
Joseph became Barnabas
Jacob became Israel
Abram became Abraham
Solomon became Jedediah (2 Samuel 12:24-25)