SermonIndex Audio Sermons
SermonIndex - Promoting Revival to this Generation
Give To SermonIndex
Discussion Forum : Scriptures and Doctrine : Where God's proactive effort and man's response meet

Print Thread (PDF)

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
PosterThread
makrothumia

Texas

Where God's proactive effort and man's response meet

I am studying Jeremiah pondering the dynamic synergy of God's proactive efforts to turn His people back to Himself and their own response to His gracious initiatives. The precision of the grammar in the LXX (Septuagint) shines a light upon God's desire for mercy and the stubborn resistance of the people that brought judgment upon them.

Here are some insights gained from the grammar. The command for the people "to turn" is repeatedly written using both the imperative mood, and the passive voice. The implication is "allow yourselves to be turned" - indicating that God is actively seeking to turn them through Jeremiah and His other forms of correction.

God's declaration to the people to "yield to His attempt to turn them" is conjoined with their response. Here is an example from Chapter 3:12-13
"Be turned back unto Me, O house of Israel, and I will not strengthen My face against you, because I am merciful, and I will not despise you unto the age. Know fully your unrighteousness, that you were ungodly unto your God, and you dispersed your ways unto every stranger under every shaded tree, but you have not obeyed My voice says the Lord. Be turned sons having revolted, because I will have dominion over you..."

Later in the same passage God's promise of healing is set before the people. Verse 22 - "Be turned, sons actively turning away, and I will heal your wounds." If the people who are actively turning away, will yield to God's efforts to turn them back, they will be healed. This same dynamic relationship is found in Matthew 13:15
For the hearts of this people have grown dull.
Their ears are hard of hearing,