SermonIndex Audio Sermons
Image Map
Discussion Forum : Welcome & Intro : My Story and encounter with Jesus

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
Joshua99

Austin Tx.

My Story and encounter with Jesus

My name is Bryan, I live outside of Austin Tx. been here for about 15 years. My wife and I moved down from the Wash. D.C. area where I finished my 6 yr. time with the U.S.M.C. also where I met my wife. I am a Musician, I play Electric and Acoustic Guitars, I also play in the worship/praise team at my church. Music has always been a very big part of my life. Bands like Kansas, Rush and ELP have been my musical teachers, until I met the Lord. The music by Hillsong, Paul Baloche and Rita Springer are my influences as well as my style to worship now. I come from a roman catholic background, left the church as a teen joined the service at 19 and saw little of the world, mainly Japan, climbed Mt Fuji 5 times, 2 times experienced the Lord while climbing! In 1978. I came back to the states, in 1979 to the D.C. area and got evolved in a few new age groups for about 1 1/2 yrs. In the summer of 1981 while visiting some friends in California, the Lord spoke to me while having a conversation with a friend. You see, a devil began speaking through my friend, to discourage me from desiring to live for God. I was describing to him a vision I just had. My eyes opened up to discern who was speaking and then the Lord asked me what would I do with this revelation. The Lord reveled himself and showed me what His plans were for me- to preach the word as well as using music as a vehicle of worship, to draw people to Christ. I immediately responded to Him with -YES LORD! To make this short and not to bore you with details, I then began to pray to go to seminary, about 5 times in 2 years. Each time the Spirit of God informed me, I would learn of Him, in the trenches-in every day life and what would be taught to me in the so called schools of Spiritual learning, God would then have to erase from my