SermonIndex Audio Sermons
Image Map
Discussion Forum : General Topics : Relevance and Usefulness of Seminary?

Print Thread (PDF)

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
pppastor

Relevance and Usefulness of Seminary?

Hello to all,

I recently discovered this amazing site, and have quickly become a huge fan. My heart is still burning from the "Ten Sheckels and a Shirt" message. WOW!

Anyway, I have a question whose answer will greatly effect the path that I take in my ministry. I'm hoping you all can give me some advice.

As a young pastor, I am continually driven to learn more about our magnificient God. It is in my heart to know as much as possible, so that I may be better at leading others to the knowledge of God. I have found myself searching my heart for the best path in which I can pursue this desire. In this light, the idea of seminary immediately comes in my mind.

What is the concensus regarding seminary? Undoubtedly I would benefit from a formal education in many areas, but will it help to form me into a more useful vessel in the eyes of God? Considering the financial, personal, and spiritual committment that would be required, I want to solicate other opinions. I have spoken with numerous seminarians that recommend a Masters of Divinity. But I have also encountered a significant number who advise me to "not waste my time". I welcome any and all responses. Thanks in advance.

2005/6/10 13:30Profile
philologos

Reading, UK

Re: Relevance and Usefulness of Seminary?

pppastor
This is such a difficult question to answer in a general way. I did 3 years at Bible College almost 40 years ago and up to 2 or 3 years ago might well have said a 'waste of time', except that I knew God had guided my steps there. The reason I would have said it was a waste of time was that I never used any of the stuff I learned there... until I started to get involved with these forums!!