SermonIndex Audio Sermons
Promoting Genuine Biblical Revival.
Looking for free sermon messages?
Sermon Podcast | Audio | Video

Discussion Forum : General Topics : The translation of choice?

Print Thread (PDF)

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread

The translation of choice?

So what is the Bible translation of choice for SI members? As if I don't know the answer.:)

Blaine

2014/3/20 10:42
Sidewalk

San Diego

Re: The translation of choice?

OK, I'll bite...

Read Colossians 2:23 in the "original" King James ("It was good enough for Paul and Peter, it's good enough for me!") version, then read it in NASB.

For me, the NASB provides good readable clarity, but keeps the poetic rhythm of the old King James translation.

I also like to ponder individual verses, which makes it harder to read the full paragraph blocks of a translation like the NIV.

I have no background in Greek or Aramaic, I rely on those gifted by God to take the original languages and put forth the best translation they can. It is helpful to read the work of different translators, and get a feel for the range of meaning in certain passages.

I am also struck by the fact that while each of the authors of our bible unavoidably brought their own personalities into the text, God's approval is on each one. He has confirmed in my heart that it is His word, and that I can trust Him in it.

2014/3/20 11:12Profile
Heydave

Hampshire, UK

Online!
 Re:

Bearmaster, You are taking a risk you know!:)

Anyway, I started with the NIV when I was first saved and for the first few years, then moved onto the NASB and then onto the NKJV. However always used the KJV for reference because of the many reference books associated with it.

I found the NIV to be too much of a paraphrase (not word for word), but amazingly God still spoke to me through it (shock, horror!). I found the NASB a bit clumsy in it's readability.