SermonIndex Audio Sermons
SermonIndex - Promoting Revival to this Generation
Give To SermonIndex
Discussion Forum : General Topics : Christian Hedonism

Print Thread (PDF)

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread

Christian Hedonism

Let me know if this subject has come up before and I will be happy to review the discussion...

I would like to know what others here think of this concept of Christian Hedonism. It is new to me...I am new to the internet and I was researching AW Tozer and came across it (strange how that works) - it has nothing to do with Tozer (the author was merely comparing a contemporary Christian leader with Tozer).

I know almost nothing about it but i understand that it says that we should be motivated by pleasure (pleasure in God).

While i know little about this teaching I am terrified by it...it seems to me that we were created for quite the opposite purpose: God's pleasure...and while my pleasure in God is a good thing my pleasure should NEVER be utmost and primary...

anyway those are my initial thoughts. Again, I apologize if this has been discussed...feel free to redirect me.

Also, I have no wish to discuss people (i don't want to know what anyone thinks of any of the leaders or proponents)...if that's what comes from this thread i will be very disappointed! I only wish to see some dialogue on this teaching.

Thanks.

Stephen

2005/3/24 17:41
AsliEren

Dallas, Texas

Re: Christian Hedonism

That is an athiestic self focused belief system. For a Christian to call this Christianity shouldn't even be worth considering.

Ann Rand was a popular athiest writer in the 50's and I think she led a lot of guilt ridden religous people down this road of self pleasure. They circumvented repentance and held onto something that leaves God completely out in regards to how one should live.