Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
ArthurRosh

Writing out Scripture

Writing out Scripture

By Scott Gilchrist 2004

“O how I love Thy law!
It is my meditation all the day.”

Last Friday as I put down my pencil at the conclusion of copying out Psalm 150, I found myself rejoicing in God’s Word once more. It was a memorable day for me because it marked the conclusion of copying out the Bible. I had purposefully saved Psalm 150 for my concluding page, because it seems such a fitting closure to the book of worship and this project of copying out the Scripture has definitely been a labor of love and worship.

Thirty some years ago, as a young college student, I was just beginning to discover the joys of serious Bible study. I had given myself to repeated readings of the book of Romans and it was yielding up such exciting truth from God that I was almost overwhelmed. I was so excited about first-hand personal interaction with Romans that I decided to copy it out by hand. As I did so I learned so much, saw things I hadn’t seen before, understood connections between verses and just generally found it a very helpful and beneficial exercise.

After that experience, I tended to make copying out Scripture a part of my devotional habit. When I took up another book of the Bible, I would, after reading it many times, make a handwritten copy. This somewhat mechanical discipline would slow me down and give me time to mull over and meditate upon what God was saying.

Sometime after experiencing the benefit of this simple exercise, I read in Deuteronomy where God had actually prescribed this method of interaction with His word for the kings of Israel. I was pleasantly surprised to read that, “When he sits on the throne of His kingdom, he shall write for himself a copy of this law on a scroll” (Deuteronomy 17:18). God went on to explain some of the benefits of this that included:

-- Learning to fear the Lord
-- Becoming more careful to obey the Lord
-- Being protected from pride