SermonIndex Audio Sermons
Image Map
Discussion Forum : Articles and Sermons : Are we following Jesus?

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
vivmeeraj

Are we following Jesus?

Christianity, has been unduly and unfortunately portrayed in ways Jesus Christ never wanted it to be. In the first place Christianity is not meant to be a religion. It is a way of life. This is a fact primarily many traditional Christians do not understand. Humans have the nature of following a religion than abiding by the teachings of the leader. Christians in general are not different.

As I was born in a Christian family, I thought I was a Christian.I started practicing certain rituals and practices of that particular denomination and thought I was a good Christian. But an encounter with Jesus at the age of 37, changed my views completely. I realized I was not a Christian (Act 11:26 - a disciple of Jesus Christ). I gave up my religion and started seeking Jesus so that I can follow Him. So dear reader, please understand that being part of any denomination or even the best church which is lead by the Holy Spirit, does not guarantee you this discipleship. It is a personal choice that one has to make. You can be a disciple or just a member of a group. Let us make a wise choice, depending only on the guidance and power from above.

A matter of great concern is the tendency of Christians following a pattern rather than Jesus Christ Himself. The Jews did this and failed the purpose of God. The traditional churches did this and failed as they practice something far from the spirit of the inspired word of god. Self invented rituals have replaced worship in Spirit & Truth. In short, if Jesus is not leading one, it is the tradition and rituals that are. And no tradition, ritual or practice without Jesus can save one.