SermonIndex Audio Sermons
Promoting Authentic Biblical Christianity.
Looking for free sermon messages?
Sermon Podcast | Audio | Video

Discussion Forum : News and Current Events : Richard Dawkins celebrates a victory over creationists

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
ET101

Richard Dawkins celebrates a victory over creationists

Free UK schools that teach intelligent design as science will lose funding. . .

http://www.guardian.co.uk/education/2012/jan/15/free-schools-creationism-intelligent-design

2012/1/15 7:18Profile
twayneb

Joplin, Missouri

Re: Richard Dawkins celebrates a victory over creationists

I wrestle with this type of news a little bit every time I hear it. I guess it is a little bit of my own background that makes me wrestle so much.

1. I am a high school teacher who is certified in both Math and Science and who has taught high school Physics. So I understand the scientific arguments pretty well.
2. I am an ardent believer in a VERY literal interpretation of the book of Genesis and the Biblical chronology. I believe the earth was created about 6000-7000 years ago in six literal 24 hour days. I think Ken Ham and Answers in Genesis has this one right on.
3. I see NO conflict between science and the Bible in respect to the age of the earth. I have read a LOT about it and frankly the science that says the earth is billions of years old is so full of holes that it would not even make a very good sieve.
4. I also know that the church has not done a very good job of being relevant in this area. I did an entire one week youth camp focused on creation and the response from the youth was amazing. They went away pumped that they were now armed to defend their faith in the world. God also used it to break some ground in their hearts that had been hardened against God by evolutionary doctrine.