Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
KingJimmy

Charlotte, NC

This Old House

This Old House

by

Jimmy Humphrey

Therefore everyone who hears these words of Mine and acts on them, may be compared to a wise man who built his house on the rock… (Matthew 7:24; NASB)

Recently, the denomination of a Church I used to attend, and from whose Bible college I am a graduate, the Church of God (Cleveland, TN), had their General Assembly at which a measure was being voted on whether or not women could be ordained into the office of a bishop. The measure was a controversial one in which many pastors said they would leave the denomination if such a thing happened. The measure failed to pass.

But before it failed to pass, many within the denomination were praying about the issue, and attempting to search the Scriptures and understand how God would have them move as a denomination. Should women be allowed to be ordained as bishops within the Church of God? Though I’m no longer part of that denomination, I had the opportunity to talk about the matter with some who were, and give my opinion on the matter.

Instead of giving your traditional yes or no answer to the subject, and outlining various theological reasons as to why such was or was not permissible, during the discussion I said that the debate that the denomination was having was ultimately a futile and pointless debate. Indeed, I went on to say that the Scriptures had no answer for the question being put forth for vote on the General Assembly floor.