Give To SermonIndex
Discussion Forum : Scriptures and Doctrine : The Sin of Wimping Out

Print Thread (PDF)

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
jmooney6

The Sin of Wimping Out

Dear Brothers and Sisters,

I don't know if I mentioned that I'm a part-time college student, but I was on campus today for a music composition class. While I was waiting in the hallway, two students walk in, haughty, poking fun of eternal security and "these *expletive* Jesus people". (Unbeknownst to me, in the plaza, there were fellow Christians, evangelizing.) Right away, I felt a stirring inside me, like an outrage, compelling me to say something, but when I was about to, I choked up. It wasn't like I wanted to hold back, because I love Jesus and want to do His Will, but it's like I opened my mouth, and I literally became paralyzed, not knowing what to even say (other than "shut up!" which really wouldn't have been effective at all). Even though they kept laughing about my fellow Christians, they must've seen the look on my face, for they quickly changed the conversation topic.

Afterwards, I asked my mother about what I should've done, but even before I got to the question when I was telling her what had happened, she said, "I sure hope you didn't say anything to them!" and she said, "You can't handle confrontation well," and, "Some people were called to be ministers, others priests. We're not any of those."