SermonIndex Audio Sermons
Promoting Authentic Biblical Christianity.
Looking for free sermon messages?
Sermon Podcast | Audio | Video

Discussion Forum : SermonIndex Announcements : Broken Before The Throne Prayer Event

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
sermonindex

"Pilgrim and Sojourner." - 1 Peter 2:11

Online!
 Broken Before The Throne Prayer Event

Saints,

There is a live event for the next week, it is a prayer event called: Broken Before The Throne. This is an overall summary of the development of this movement of prayer.

I will share this account from my perspective of how these things unfolded to produce this prayer movement. I have been a pastor for a number of years and was directed to read some of the great preachers of old. Learning from them what they did and how they did and how God blessed them. I would think it only rational to believe that if God honored them, would He not honor us? I took great interest in their spiritual disciplines; how they read the Bible, memorized Scriptures, devotions, witnessing and the prayer life. I began a study of some of the great saints of old and teachings on prayer. I read Andrew Murray, George Mueller, Hudson Taylor and Praying John Hyde to mention a few. I quickly confessed my meager and small prayer life to these that bathed themselves with God daily. I also started to notice the prayer life of the church was little, if non-existing to many. The overall desire was to seek out those that had prevailed in prayer and experienced things like these dead saints had. I sought out TW Hunt, Dennis Kinlaw, Henry Blackaby, and found many others along the path that was praying deeply. Roughly during this time of speaking with these men on prayer I was given a book on the Keswick Convention and a collection of some of the most memorable sermons there. Also, John Hyde had assembled a conference to strengthen the church workers and laborers for prayer and holiness in India. The idea was birthed to have a conference to teach an