SermonIndex Audio Sermons
Image Map
Discussion Forum : General Topics : Why is divorce so high in the church?

Print Thread (PDF)

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread
Joshh

Why is divorce so high in the church?

One thing I thought of is that the devil will attack Christian marriages to hurt believers and bring damage to the church and its reputation. Why do you think this is?

2009/8/5 4:36Profile
enid

Nottingham, England

Re: Why is divorce so high in the church?

There could be many reasons why divorce is so high in the church.

I'm no expert, so it's only opinion from me.

First, the church seems to parrot the world in just about everything. And since divorce is high in the world, then guess what, the church follows suit.

As it is, many who attend church are not Christians anyway, but they know the cliches etc, so they get married, and when it doesn't work out, the answer is divorce.

Also, since people date, and split up, and date and split up, then when they get married, it changes to married, divorced, married, divorced and so on.

Someone who can see the sacrifice of the Lord Jesus Christ on the cross, will look to the cross throughout their entire life, and focus it on their marriage, children, home, everything.

To conclude, I also view eternity, either heaven or hell.

Both are forever. I don't want to do anything to make my family reject the gospel and lose out for all eternity.

God bless.

2009/8/5 5:44Profile

Re:

The rate of divorce in the church is directly proportional to the rate of sin and carnality allowed by the church.

If 90% of the conversions in the country were actually real... and the church got serious about not being just like the world, or concerned about offending the world... the divorce rate, teen pregnancy rate, substance abuse rate, etc in the church would decline.

I agree w/ Paul Washer... less than 10% of the peopple in this country who claim to be saved actually are.