SermonIndex Audio Sermons
Image Map
Discussion Forum : Scriptures and Doctrine : open view,perfectionism

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
bluezoe

open view,perfectionism

hi my names martin from england im new to sermon index, but i would like to ask two questions.I am doing a course at the moment and itis very into the open view if anyone has any views on this i would appreicate it,i find it hard because i do belive god knows the future but some of the arguments does seem to make sense.the other question that bugs me is that perfectionism is also taught i really struggle with this 1 , any help on thses two would be very welcome thank you,god bless

2004/6/6 18:04Profile
nobody

Re: open view,perfectionism

The mainstream orthodox Christian views on these topics that have been handed down through the centuries are directly in conflict with them. Open theism may sound somewhat reasonable when certain Old Testament passages are read that are very anthropic and describe God in terms we can grasp. The fact is that the view doesn't hold water against the two main views that the church has held for the past 1600 years. Those views being either Augustinianism/Calvinism or semi-Pelagianism/Arminianism.

Eph 1
3 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places in Christ, 4just as He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before Him in love, 5having predestined us to adoption as sons by Jesus Christ to Himself, according to the good pleasure of His will, 6to the praise of the glory of His grace, by which He made us accepted in the Beloved.