SermonIndex Audio Sermons
Image Map
Discussion Forum : Scriptures and Doctrine : whole bible vs. Jesus :question

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
rocklife

usa

whole bible vs. Jesus :question

Some Christians say the whole Bible is all equal, and of course any word from God is worthy to be praised and exalted above all else. And we can learn from the Old Testament, definitely. Some people are suggesting to me that we are to follow the whole bible. My question is, doesn't the entire Bible point to Jesus as our teacher and leader? The Old and New? God's word keeps directing us to Jesus and to follow Him, right? I am studying the Bible, and have read and reread the New Testament well over 10 times at least, the Old Testament not as much yet (am a 3 year old Christian). Some "Christians" (don't know them personally, just on the internet) are acting like I'm off-base because I put so much emphasis on Jesus. Can anyone help me out?

Lord, please guide me into truth about this, in Jesus' name I pray, amen.

2004/6/4 13:39Profile
Clutch

Oak Ridge, Tennessee

Re: whole bible vs. Jesus :question

Hi Rock,
Here's what the Holy Spirit, through the Apostle Paul, said about that subject in II Timothy 3:16-17:

"16 All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:
17 That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works."

Clutch

2004/6/4 14:14Profile
Rahman

Rocklife you posted:

((( Some people are suggesting to me that we are to follow the whole bible. My question is, doesn't the entire Bible point to Jesus as our teacher and leader? The Old and New? God's word keeps directing us to Jesus and to follow Him, right? )))

Right! ...

The entire OT points to Christ first coming ...

The Gospels tell us of His life here on earth, and how to FOLLOW HIM ...

The rest of the NT points to His second coming ...