SermonIndex Audio Sermons
SermonIndex - Promoting Revival to this Generation
Give To SermonIndex
Discussion Forum : Revivals And Church History : John Wesley not saved?

Print Thread (PDF)

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread
BeYeDoers

Bloomington, IN

John Wesley not saved?

The church I have been attending for several months does a great job of preaching against sin, unlike most churches I've ever been in. They are Calvinist in theolgy, which I am most definitely not, but I can agree to disagree if they can. However, some of the pastors and elders are very much opposed to Wesley and his theology. I don't know if they go as far as crying "heretic!" but it's not too far from that. The following was written by one of the elders:

One of the great joys of my life has been reading the books written by Iain Murray. Pastor Murray was the former assistant of Dr. Martyn Lloyd-Jones at Westminster Chapel in London. He also pastored churches in England and Australia, as well as working for the Banner of Truth publishing company. I could list all of Murray’s books and tell of the impact they have made on my life but that would take too long.

Recently, I’ve enjoyed reading one of his books, Wesley and the Men Who Followed (Banner, 2003). He answered some questions I’ve had about John Wesley for many years.

Wesley’s conversion was a difficult process, one that John himself struggled to understand. Though brought up in a pastor’s home, he went off to Oxford University as an unconverted man...