SermonIndex Audio Sermons
SermonIndex - Promoting Revival to this Generation
Give To SermonIndex
Discussion Forum : Articles and Sermons : TO Sermon Index Members: Unity and Glory

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
KingJimmy

Charlotte, NC

TO Sermon Index Members: Unity and Glory

John 17:22 “The glory which You have given Me I have given to them, that they may be one, just as We are one; 23 I in them and You in Me, that they may be perfected in unity, so that the world may know that You sent Me, and loved them, even as You have loved Me.

I was dwelling on this verse recently as I studied the Scriptures. And I saw something I had never seen before, and thought I'd share it, especially with the stink that has arisen on these forums the last few days.

In this passage, Jesus links the glory of God to the unity of the body of Christ. Jesus says that the glory God has given Him, He has now in turn given to the saints. And this He does with a purpose. "That" they might be one, even as God the Father and God the Son are one. For when we as believers come to recognize the very glory of God in the life of another believer, it becomes increasingly difficult to criticize one another, and point out the faults with one another, and act hostile to one another. Why? Because there is a touch of God resting on that persons life.