SermonIndex Audio Sermons
Image Map
Discussion Forum : News and Current Events : Texas Legislative panel advances Bible-in-schools bill

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
ccchhhrrriiisss

Texas Legislative panel advances Bible-in-schools bill

[b]Texas Legislative panel advances Bible bill as classes made optional[/b]

This really made my day!

Republicans in the Texas Legislature introduced a bill that would require Texas high schools to teach the Bible. A panel passed the Democrat-controlled Public Education Committee's approval -- with certain changes. The panel wanted the courses to be optional (a decision of each local District). While this might prevent some of the more intrinsically liberal districts in Austin, Dallas and Houston from offering the Bible courses (as a text), this is a major victory!

The teaching of the Bible has been legal in Texas schools for a few years (one of the first measures since the Republicans took over the legislature). As an undergraduate student, I was able to take several Bible courses at a local church to fulfill my "humanities and human science" requirements in my degree plan. They were wonderful classes (filled with curious non-believers)! However, many public school districts were worried that the classes might not withstand court challenges from certain anti-religion groups. This decision makes the opportunity far more credible. The rules committee agreed to the classes upon two criterium:

1. Optional for the local school districts
2. Must be "religion neutral" (taught from a social or historical perspective).

Due to the conservative nature of the Supreme Court -- favoring State and local rights -- following the changes since the latest justices were appointed by President Bush, it is unlikely any challenge would be successful.

[url=http://www.mysanantonio.com/news/metro/stories/MYSA042007.9A.lege.bible.33720de.html]Click here[/url] to read the full article!