SermonIndex Audio Sermons
Image Map
Discussion Forum : General Topics : What is wrong with this? if anything?

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread

What is wrong with this? if anything?

Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D., is the director of the
National Human Genome Research Institute. His most recent book is
"The Language of God: A Scientist Presents Evidence for Belief."

*ROCKVILLE, Maryland* (CNN) -- I am a scientist and a believer, and I
find no conflict between those world views.

As the director of the Human Genome Project, I have led a consortium of
scientists to read out the 3.1 billion letters of the human genome, our
own DNA instruction book. As a believer, I see DNA, the information
molecule of all living things, as God's language, and the elegance and
complexity of our own bodies and the rest of nature as a reflection of
God's plan.

I did not always embrace these perspectives. As a graduate student in
physical chemistry in the 1970s, I was an atheist, finding no reason to
postulate the existence of any truths outside of mathematics, physics
and chemistry. But then I went to medical school, and encountered life
and death issues at the bedsides of my patients. Challenged by one of
those patients, who asked "What do you believe, doctor?", I began
searching for answers.

I had to admit that the science I loved so much was powerless to answer
questions such as "What is the meaning of life?" "Why am I here?" "Why
does mathematics work, anyway?" "If the universe had a beginning, who
created it?" "Why are the physical constants in the universe so finely
tuned to allow the possibility of complex life forms?" "Why do humans
have a moral sense?" "What happens after we die?"

I had always assumed that faith was based on purely emotional and
irrational arguments, and was astounded to discover, initially in the
writings of the Oxford scholar C.S. Lewis and subsequently from many
other sources, that one could build a very strong case for the