SermonIndex - Promoting Revival to this Generation
Give To SermonIndex
Discussion Forum : Revivals And Church History : my failures in leadership

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
timmyspitz

Cottonwood, Arizona

my failures in leadership

I am an assistant pastor at one of God's churches in AZ; and my specific area of oversight is the men's ministry here at the church. I have for sometime wondered why the ministry seemed to lack his power and this is what God has shown me.

Rom 2:21-23
21 You, therefore, who teach another, do you not teach yourself? You who preach that a man should not steal, do you steal? 22 You who say, "Do not commit adultery," do you commit adultery? You who abhor idols, do you rob temples? 23 You who make your boast in the law, do you dishonor God through breaking the law?

It is not Christian leadership when I try to send people to a place I am not first willing to go?
Leadership is dependant on people following one who walks before them.
The shepherd in Israel is quite different than the shepherds of the western world who use dogs to drive them. But he walks in front of the flock and as they would hear his voice they would follow.
If this is true and can be applied to Christian leadership, how can they follow me when I trail behind.
How can I expect those in my charge to arrive at a place where I’m not going?
How can I call others to go to a place I have refused to venture?
How can I tell others to scale a hill, I am not willing to climb?
How will I ever see to it that others bring down strongholds where I haven’t first found victory?
How can I expect others to forsake the things I still hold onto?
No this is not Christian leadership. I can all it whatever I like; but I cannot call it leadership;

And I cannot call it Christ-like.

Matt 10:24-25