SermonIndex Audio Sermons
Promoting Genuine Biblical Revival.
Looking for free sermon messages?
Sermon Podcast | Audio | Video

Discussion Forum : General Topics : Anyone a high school teacher?

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
allhavsinned

North West England

Anyone a high school teacher?

Quick question, though I'm in England so it may only be relevant over here;I'm an engineer and I am going to be made redundant at the end of 2008 and I'm looking for a career change, would you advise teaching High school? or should I not spend the 2 or more years studying and do something I already know what to do?

I am leaving it in God's hands but that doesn't mean that I should sit on my rear end and wait for Him to give me a job.
If He closes this door I'll look elsewhere.

Thanks

Ste

2007/2/13 17:06Profile

Re: Anyone a high school teacher?

I'm going to surprise some people here... since my wife and I are big proponents of homeschooling... but perhaps the Lord IS calling you to teach high school. While I do not ever recommend public schools for Christian children, I think it is a wonderful mission field for Christian teachers. The only problem I would have myself is if I was forced to teach something that I know to be utterly false... such as evolution.

But if the thought has crossed your mind, perhaps it's a thought that the Lord has planted there.

Mind if I ask what type of engineering you do that will be obsolete next year? I know technology is moving fast, but wow...

Krispy

2007/2/13 17:12
allhavsinned

North West England

Re:

It's not the engineering it's the fact that in easteren Europe they work for a week what they pay us for an hour!

I realise what you said and I too fell the tug, but it's such a jump, I want as much input as I can find. Actually if I'm honest, I'm wanting people to say 'hay I started teaching and it's the best job in the world!' rather than 'I've been teaching for 5 years and I'm trying hard to get out of it!'