SermonIndex - Promoting Revival to this Generation
Give To SermonIndex
Discussion Forum : General Topics : I Need Advice For Prayer-Meeting

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread
BENOTLEH

Newnan Georgia

I Need Advice For Prayer-Meeting

Two friends and i just recently started a prayer-meeting but i have no experience in praying with others, both of my friends are very sincere, but they are not to eager to pray outloud, i seem to be the only one willing to pray aloud, this is not a serious problem and its not really hindering us but i was looking to get others advice and personal experiences in prayer meetings, Thank you

2007/2/10 21:27Profile
Goldminer

Alabama

Re: I Need Advice For Prayer-Meeting

I have been a part of several prayer meetings for a long time. I have always found that new people take a while to lose their fear of praying out loud.

You could ask them to pray specifically for things that your are asked or feel to pray about.

At our meetings we put on some worship music and worship the Lord for a while first, this also seem to put us in more of yielded position to pray.

For a while we were getting long lists of things to pray for, we found that we could pray for most of them as a whole and spend more time just waiting on the Lord to see what He would have us pray for.

Also one of the difficulties with prayer meetings can be that some people with needs can talk on and on and on, at times you have to take control and say prayers for their problems, keeping it short and then go on as God leads. We had some people dominate the entire prayer time with talking and we didn't get time to pray. We had to take control of that situation and tell people we would gladly talk to them about personal things after the meeting or at another time. If you don't do that people will get discouraged and feel they aren't accomplishing anything and will quit.

I hope this helps a little. God give you grace in our endevour.

2007/2/10 23:52Profile
sermonindex

Canada