Promoting Genuine Biblical Revival.
Looking for free sermon messages?
Sermon Podcast | Audio | Video

Discussion Forum : General Topics : Teaching without Preaching

Print Thread (PDF)

PosterThread

Teaching without Preaching

Greetings all...

I write this post with a heavy heart. Most of you know that I am an English teacher in South Korea. Presently, I am at a college, which offers various English camps and workshops. My students range from eight years (camp and after school programs) to sixty years old (college, government, and regular folks for conversation).

About half of the time I teach from a book, but the other half is free talking and topic teaching. Most of the time, actually, all of the time, I state that I am a Christian and try to open the topic to discussion. Korea has a growing Christian population, but a lot of people are 'so-called' buddists (I say 'so-called' mainly because they are only by name, not practice.) or atheists.

This has led me to learn a lot of things about them and myself. Sometimes I am asked questions, while other times I see that they are interested, but feel overwhelmed by family, culture, and tradition, so they are afraid to experience something different. I like my job, but each day I realize this will not be my job forever, especially since I am awaiting conformation to a masters of divinty program in Canada.

Today, I was approached by my director (boss), who said that I should not talk about my faith so much in class. The thing is, he did not tell me not to, because he and I have been talking about faith more and more, since he has had many problems in his life. He knows how I live and at times he shows interest to learn more. He was passing along a concern of a former student(s?), not something he felt.