SermonIndex - Promoting Revival to this Generation
Give To SermonIndex
Discussion Forum : General Topics : Balancing Truth and Love

Print Thread (PDF)

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread
mchimes

Balancing Truth and Love

I have been drinking in the truth on this site for several months now and it has been amazing for my walk and ministry (I'm a worship leader in the United Methodist Church.) Thank you Lord for providing this for your people! I just listened this:

http://64.34.176.235/sermons/SID4451.mp3

It is a deeply personal and humble message from Albert Zehr on letting go of condemnation and judgment to embrace people in love. He maintains that this is Christ's work in us . . . let Him be the head of His body.

I must say that it has convicted me of a trap that I seem to find myself in lately . . . that of possibly expecting too much from my fellow brothers and sisters. The question emerges, in the pusuit of renewal and revival, how do we balance the "obvious" truth with the often "elusive" love?

As many of you know the Methodist church is struggling with many issues that can easily foster a condemning spirit in some of it's more passionate members. I number myself among these and am planning on joining the renewing movement called "The Confessing Movement."

I am a young worship leader who works very closely with a slighty younger pastor. We are both called for this work, but wrestling with differences over the emphasis that should be placed on the dispensing of truth and love, particularly in ministry.

I've thought of leaving the Methodist church, but the Lord has not given me a green light. Moreover, the deeper I get into Wesley and the origins of Methodism, I am convinced that to leave may be to abandon something God is waiting to restore.

So for the experienced out there . . . please share with me your personal struggles (successes and failures) of hitting the "truth/love" balance.