SermonIndex Audio Sermons
SermonIndex - Promoting Revival to this Generation
Give To SermonIndex
Discussion Forum : General Topics : When is it time to leave?

Print Thread (PDF)

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
pdizzle

Lexington, KY

When is it time to leave?

Hi. It's been some time since I've posted. Still very much in love with the Savior and still very much in the word. My question is essentially formed from a need to vent a bit to some place where I can be candid without the fear of reprisal.
I'm an associate pastor, I'm on sabbatical and have been for 2 years. At the time I felt I needed to step down. No moral failure, I had just graduated college and was in the midst of starting a new career, building a home (myself) and we were having our 4th child. So i needed to take a hand off for a while. The sabbatical was offered so I took it to sort of "try it out" before fully committing to my decision.
There were further reasons for my wanting to step aside. I have been with the church that I am in for nearly 20 years, I started when I was just saved around the age of 18. I love my pastor and I love the people of the congregation. However, it is a strongly charismatic church and has heavy leanings toward the NAR (New Apostolic Reformation). At the beginning I didn't have much worry.
Yet as I have continued to grow over the course of the past 10 years there's been an ever widening discontent with much of the doctrine. I still love the people, I just have a hard time accepting modern apostles, prophets and the while health and wealth dumpster fire.
I've continued to minister on occasion and for the most part preach expositorally. I have subtly rebuked as well as sternly rebuked the idea of WOF doctrine, but it seems no one is listening as it is generally reinforced by the senior leadership, deacons and elders.
I feel disingenuous by continuing to stay, but I can't seem to find the proper way to leave.